About Us

The Faces of Kalamia Cane Growers & Kalagro


Our Directors

Robert Malaponte

Elected on May 2000 Director

Elected on May 2004, Chairman

Elected Kalagro Limited Director on 4th November 2010

  • Graduate of the Rural Leadership Course, Gatton College
  • Acquired the family cane farm some years ago and operates a back hoe contracting business in conjunction with the farming enterprise.
  • Former Chairman and Member of Burdekin Farm Safety Action Group.
  • Director since Kalamia CaneGrowers Company was incorporated in May 2000.
Robert Zandonadi
Deputy Chairman

Appointed on 1st May 2016 Director

  • Completed secondary education at St Augustines College Cairns 1981
  • Fitter & Turner trade at Pioneer Mill 1982-1986
  • Owned small wholesale business 1986-1992
  • Previously involved with the Kalamia Young Farmers group
  • Managing family cane farm since 1987




Joseph Quagliata

Elected on 13th August 2007 – Director

Elected Kalagro Limited Director on 4th November 2010

  • Growing cane since the age of 16 and involved in harvesting and haulage for a number of years.
  • Currently owns and manages a haulage truck, hauling in excess of 100,000 tonne of cane in the Airville area
  • Operates a tipper-bin servicing growers through Burdekin Productivity Services with seed cane.
  • Director of Kalamia Cane Growers since 2007


Denis Pozzebon

Appointed on 1st May 2016 Director

  • Sugar Cane BMP accredited 2016


  • Living and working on family farm since age 5, farming full time for 26 years.
  • Previously worked delivering fuel to farmers and businesses for a number of years.
  • Involved with many committees including Rural Fire and Sugar Advisory boards.
  • First Officer for Rural Fire Brigade for 9 years
  • Member of Catalyst Group
  • Involved with Sugar Cane Innovations group (NQ Dry Topics)
  • Participated in a number of Chemical, Fertiliser, Soil, Yield and Harvesting trials
  • Recently involved with Autonomous Irrigation Trial

Meet The Staff

Dave Paine

Started as Manager 1st February 2021

Jacki Kratzmann
Payroll Manager/Administration Officer
Started on 5th April 1994
Narelle Breadsell
Administration Officer
Started on 6th October 2011
Annmaree D'Alessandro
Administration Officer
Started on 19th January 2015